THE TIMES OF INDIA, AHMEDABAD SATURDAY, NOVEMBER 26, 2022

G20 tourism working group meeting to be held in Kutch

Series Of Events Scheduled In Gujarat

Kapil.Dave@timesgroup.com

Gandhinagar: Gujarat will host a number of events of the G20 global forum over the next year as India holds the presidency of the G20 from December 2022 to November 2023. G20 is a forum of the 20 largest economies of the world and meets regularly to deliberate on pressing issues facing the global economy.

Top sources in the state administration said 13 key G20 events will be held in Gujarat between January and September next year and the administration is finalizing preparations for these in coordination with the ministry of external affairs and other Union government departments.

"Key G20 events concerning finance, banking, trade and investment, energy, urban development, environ-



ment and climate, tourism and women's empowerment, among others, will be hosted by Gujarat. The state government is working closely with MEA and other Union government agencies to finalize preparations for these events," said a senior government official.

Over the past six months, top officers of the state administration led by chief secretary Pankaj Kumar have held meetings with MEA officials, during which the Gujarat team was briefed about the central government's role in hosting key G20 (Group of 20) meetings. "The schedule of various meetings has now been finalized and 13 key events of the G20 global forum to be held in Gujarat," officials said.

India is holding the G20 global forum presidency from December 1, 2022 to November 30, 2023. G20 comprises of the world's major developed and developing economies. accounting for 85% of global GDP and 75% of international trade, making it the premier forum for international economic cooperation. As a founding member of G20, India has contributed towards its discussions on issues of global importance, including those that affect the most vulnerable around the world.

The members of G20 are: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States, and the European Union.